Keep up with our activities:

Facebook link
Twitter link
 Funded by the United States Department of Education, National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR).

OIB-TAC Hosts Task Force

Members of the OIB task force sit around a table and hold a small group discussion.

The OIB-TAC: Older Individuals who are Blind Technical Assistance Center grant team hosted the OIB Best Practices Task Force on January 18-20 in Starkville, MS. The 17-member group, including project partners from the American Foundation for the Blind (AFB), VisionServe Alliance (VSA), Helen Keller National Center for Deaf-Blind Youths & Adults (HKNC), and Hadley Institute, participated in collaborative activities and discussions to define best practices in provision and delivery of services to support improvements of state OIB programs.

Members of the best practices task force contributed information and perspectives, representing more than a dozen states and multiple fields of practice, to the OIB-TAC project staff. Participants included Doug Anzlovar (Hadley Institute), Beverly Berg (Montana State Services for the Blind), Elizabeth DeShields (New Jersey State Services for the Blind), Don Golembiewski (past director for Wisconsin State Services for the Blind), Nora Griffin-Shirley (Texas Tech University), Deb Harlin (HKNC), Mathew Haynes (Alabama State Services for the Blind), Tandra Hunter-Payne (Maryland State Services for the Blind), Ed Lecher (Minnesota State Services for the Blind), John Mascia (Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind), Roxann Mayros (VSA), Cheri Nipp (Mississippi Occupational Therapist), Pris Rogers (AFB), and Joe Strechay (Pennsylvania State Services for the Blind).

Funded by the Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA) under the Department of Education (Grant No. H177Z150003), OIB-TAC training and technical assistance activities are designed to work with state OIB programs to improve administration, operation, and performance of OIB programs. Contact OIB-TAC Project Director BJ LeJeune ( or project staff Bill Tomlin, Kendra Farrow, Doug Bedsaul, Adele Crudden, and Sophie Kershaw for further information.